Tool Time Rewind: A Month in Review

I reviewed several books and apps on Literacy Toolbox in February.  I’m going to try to do more reviews this year and hopefully, continue with a mix of reviews between books and iPad/iPhone apps.

Spotlight on Literacy Organizations: First Book

February began with a spotlight on another amazing literacy organization: First Book.  Since 1992, First Book has distributed over 80 million new books to children who might not have the opportunity to own their own books.

Use One by Kathryn Otoshi to Discuss Respect with Your Child

I had the opportunity to read aloud One to my daughter’s preschool class.  It’s a great book that uses colors to put bullying and respect in perspective for younger children.

Use 13 Words by Lemony Snicket to Model Vocabulary through Context

Using only thirteen words, this master author wove a story that engages children. I wondered how it was possible to create something engaging with only thirteen words. Lemony Snicket did it.

Reading App Review: Bob Books App

Technically, Bob Books isn’t a book – well, they do have books, but my children have never read them.  However, when I saw they had app for the iPad, I had to download it. This app is great for your beginning readers!

iPad App Review: How Rocket Learned to Read by Tad Hills

This book app for the iPad is one of the best I’ve seen by far.  Essentially it brings the picture book, How Rocket Learned to Read, to life.

We-View” Wednesday: The Flat Stanley Adventure Exchange

Trina from Book Loving Boys created this online adventure that began yesterday.  My son and I are excited to participate.

iPad App Review: Wild About Books by Judy Sierra

What happens when Ms. McGrew drives her bookmobile into the zoo?  Why the animals learn to read of course – and love to read, too!  Another great interactive app from Random House Children’s Books.

What are You Reading? Literacy Resolutions February Update

An update on the literacy resolutions I created for myself for 2011.  Which ones have I met so far?  Which ones have I broken?  What books do you recommend for me?

And that is Tool Time Rewind for the month of February.

And don’t forget: ”We-View” Wednesday is back! The third Wednesday of every month is reserved for reviews of books you read with your children.  Share yours and your child’s thoughts on the book!  To participate, please email me [dlittle [at] linkstoliteracy [dot] com] your review by the Sunday prior.  I hope you will join us!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

