Tool Time Rewind: A Month in Review at Literacy Toolbox

Most people look at January as a time for new beginnings.  I’m not big on making resolutions for the New Year, but as 2010 came to a close, I began to analyze my reading life and decided I needed a few literacy resolutions to jumpstart 2011!

Literacy Resolution #1: Read Every Day!

Inspired by Donalyn Miller’s, The Book Whisperer, I decided there was no time like the present to read every day.  I try to read for me every day, not just to my kids.

Literacy Resolution #2: Keep a Reader’s Notebook

I want to be able to track how much reading I do this year and I want to have a record in later years of what I read.  Keeping a Reader’s Notebook will help me with this goal.  I’m keeping my personal reading and professional reading separate and I’ve helped my kids start their own reading notebooks as well.

Literacy Resolution #3: Read Outside My Comfort Zone

Stated simply: read books I wouldn’t normally read.  I have a few in my TBR pile already.  The last couple of years have found me reading picture books to my children and adult books for myself.  Through my Twitter friends, I have found a great deal of MG and YA books that I would like to read.  My goal is to read widely this year.

Literacy Resolution #4: Read More MG and YA

My environment the last eight years has not necessarily afforded me the opportunity to read MG and YA, as my children are under 8 years old.  However, my son is moving into middle grade chapter books now and I want to be able to discuss them with him.  Plus, I kind of miss reading these genres!

Literacy Resolution #5: Read Professional Literature in a Timely Manner

I have subscriptions to two professional journals that I just can’t seem to read regularly.  I really need to.  And want to.  So, my goal is to sit down and read an article or two when they arrive in the mail.  There are also a number of professional books that I would like to read!

Literacy Resolution #6: Take Time to Write More

My first book was published in 2010.  I really have so much more to say!  I need to get to it! A little writing time each day is in order for 2011!

Literacy Resolution #7: Become Part of a Reading Community

A reading community is so important in the life of a reader.  I’m lucky to have found several communities to join this year. 

And that is Tool Time Rewind for the month of January.

And don’t forget: ”We-View” Wednesday is back! The third Wednesday of every month is reserved for reviews of books you read with your children.  Share yours and your child’s thoughts on the book!  To participate, please email me [dlittle [at] linkstoliteracy [dot] com] your review by the Sunday prior.  I hope you will join us!

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Tool Time Rewind: A Month in Review at Literacy Toolbox”

  1. Tweets that mention Tool Time Rewind: A Month in Review at Literacy Toolbox « Literacy Toolbox -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Caitlin Donohue and Dawn Little, Dawn Little. Dawn Little said: Tool Time Rewind: A Month in Review at Literacy Toolbox: http://wp.me/pI7J6-hj […]

  2. Isabel Says:

    I’ve loved this series on Literacy Resolutions. I’m reading ‘The Book Whisperer’ now as you recommended and it’s really inspired me to read more professional literature. I don’t know why I stopped doing it! I also started a reader’s notebook. Thanks for these great posts.

    • Links to Literacy Says:

      Isabel, I’m so glad you loved this series – I enjoyed writing it! I’m so glad you are reading The Book Whisperer as well! It’s an inspiring piece of professional literature! Thanks for stopping in and commenting!!

  3. What Are You Reading? Literacy Resolutions February Update « Literacy Toolbox Says:

    […] month, I made seven literacy resolutions for 2011.  Each month, as part of a way to hold myself accountable, I hope to provide an update on […]

  4. Tool Time Rewind: A Month in Review « Literacy Toolbox Says:

    […] Spotlight on Literacy Organizations: First Book […]

Leave a Reply

